Tags

, , ,

 

A year ago, I wanted to buy a good hard-disk. I went to look for them in big electronic stores but returned disappointed because there wasn’t much to choose from. I took a friend’s help; he asked me to check certain websites and certain brands among the ones displayed. Finally, I found a good one – online. Online stores are selling all kinds of things today. However, the presence of online stores and their great discounts and deals are leading to many small retail businesses shutting shop. Amazon, the great online book store, has been an ambitious company ruining the profits of its vendors (publishers, authors and the like) brutally for several years. It also has help now – laws. Laws today favour customers and large organisations at the expense of small producers. (Fortunately, it is not happening everywhere.) Here’s more on Amazon, its founder, and his ruthlessness:

http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2014/jul/10/citizen-bezos-amazon/

