Tags

, , , , , ,

Ours is an inter-regional marriage which means that my spouse’s mother tongue is different from my mother tongue. When I visit my in-laws place, I have to really pay attention to understand the language. If it is interspersed with English and Hindi terms, I can comprehend parts of it (if I pay attention that is). However, when the people over there speak the native language rapidly and fluently, I can’t figure out anything. In the language of money too, it is difficult to understand when the language is full of financial jargon.

Today’s article is a well written one with examples to show why the language of money has become so complex. It will also tell you something more important: when I understand the language of my spouse’s homeland, I have access to useful (and at times not-useful) information including juicy gossip, local tasty food recipes, and interesting cultural information; not understanding the language of money gives power to other people – in order to not get manipulated, we must understand the language of money too.

  1. newyorker.com/magazine/2014/08/04/money-talks-6
