Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Being present

When I was 16, my family travelled to Nepal and a few places in Eastern India. We stayed at a family friend’s unoccupied place. Here I discovered The Most Beautiful Horse by Boris Almozov. Till date, it is one of the most beautiful books that I have read. The book is about the joys and struggles of growing up, friends, and family of a sixteen year old Russian boy. The book left a long-lasting happy impression and even after so many years, when I recall some of the story-moments, it leaves me smiling.

So much of children’s literature is imaginative and timeless. Here’s a fine example of writing: about a child who longs to use her umbrella and boots. The beautifully illustrated story is about the impatient wait for rain.

http://www.brainpickings.org/2014/10/16/umbrella-taro-yashima/

The veil of secrecy

Long ago, when my friend kept her pregnancy a secret from me, it hurt. I have a problem of over-sharing and when my best friend couldn’t reciprocate the openness, I sulked. Now that I know that it is a common occurrence, it doesn’t matter much. Here’s an interesting discussion about the secret and openness aspect of it.

https://medium.com/the-archipelago/im-pregnant-so-why-cant-i-tell-you-271659d03f36

