Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Enigma Machine

Long ago, I had borrowed a book on coding-decoding from the library. Soon I was absorbed in the ways I could code usual letters into another language and in the ways to decode. It was a time when I was crazy about detective novels; I was so addicted to them that I would put the books in my school books and would read them while a class was in progress. Thankfully, I was never caught but I did get nicknamed Ms. Hardy (to read as many Hardy Boys’- books on two teenage brothers cracking criminal mysteries, and finding treasures and goons – as possible was a competition in class) for my addiction.

Detective books and shows such as the television shows and movies on Sherlock Holmes are quite popular. The laws of deduction were much needed during the world wars too to decode encrypted messages. This short article tells us how the allied codebreakers developed machines (and there were smart people also) to beat the enigmatic Enigma (a coding machine developed by the Axis Powers):

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2014/nov/14/how-did-enigma-machine-work-imitation-game

The Romance of telegraphy

Once upon a time, telegraph machines were popular and the jobs that came with that were the jobs-in-demand. The technology gave rise to periodicals devoted to this machine, and the men and women who worked on the machines. Stories inspired by telegraph operators (real or fictional) had all the elements of romance and tragedy.

http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/future_tense/2014/11/telegraph_literature_from_19th_century_was_surprisingly_modern.single.html

