Tags

, , , , , ,

I quite liked the idea of today’s article – that successful startup founders are generally not-mean and that success and meanness may share an inverse correlation when it comes to entrepreneurship. While it is a feel-good idea, I am not totally convinced. However, the author does make a good argument on it and several parts of the article do make a lot of sense. One of the successful start-up founders I know just celebrated his sixtieth birthday. Yet, if work calls him at six thirty in the morning, he is there. I think I know his strengths. And, meanness sometimes works for him and sometimes it doesn’t. Thankfully, I also know startup founders who apart from having a very smart head on their shoulders are few of the nicest people I know.

http://paulgraham.com/mean.html

