Tags

, , , , ,

After delivery of a few books and other items that I had picked up from Amazon.com, I received emails from the website asking me to review the product. Another website offered me discounts if I could review them on their Facebook page. While checking for furniture online, I came across a website I hadn’t heard of. After reading a couple of customer reviews, I realized it was a fraudulent one.
Before I make online purchases, I often check the reviews – it gives me a better idea about the product and/or the service involved. Knowing this, the website/product owners (and distributors) often put up fake reviews of products. On the trend of increasing reviews of products and a burgeoning base of customers writing reviews online, this linguist (Camila Vasquez), who studies the language of these reviews, made some interesting observations. Here are some insights:

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/11/30/business/the-art-of-the-amateur-online-review.html?_r=0

