Tags

, , , , ,

When I think about it, I know awfully less about such a huge country – Russia. Back when it was the bigger Soviet Union, I knew that it was eleven times the size of India; it was India’s ‘friend’ and quite anti-America during the cold war; and of course the deadly gulags that I heard of much later paint a disturbing picture. I know a lot of “fictionized” facts about Russia: for a long-long time, the Russians were the chief villains (think James Bond or Iron Man 2!) in American and English movies (later, it was the turn of Chinese or Koreans). But, this one really takes the cake – it gives a glimpse into post-USSR -dissolution- life of Moscow and yet in many ways it is much more than a glimpse:

http://www.newrepublic.com/article/120503/what-moscow-was-after-dissolution-ussr-1992

