Tags

, , , , ,

You always get a special kick on opening day, no matter how many you go through. You look forward to it like a birthday party when you are a kid. You think something wonderful is going to happen.
– Joe DiMaggio

For the past week whenever I have been telling friends about The Readers’ Club completing one year, I get this pleasant and surprised reaction: “Really!” It totally sums up my mood on its birthday today – I am happy and surprised too. And, I am celebrating the day by doing what I usually do – but with icing and cherries on the cake.

I am a lucky girl – my dear husband gifted me the entire collection of Calvin and Hobbes on my birthday. So the celebrations have to begin with one of the strips of my favourite comic.
http://www.gocomics.com/calvinandhobbes/1995/12/31

Every year on your birthday, you get a chance to start new.
– Sammy Hagar

It is birthday time, folks! Here are two links celebrating birthdays from one of my favourite websites. The first one is an endearing short story of a lady’s
birthday party made special with a child’s gift; the second one is a write-up from the author – on the website completing seven years.
http://www.brainpickings.org/2014/09/04/happy-birthday-madame-chapeau/
http://www.brainpickings.org/2013/10/23/7-lessons-from-7-years/

I like working on my birthday, so I always do.
– Abhishek Bachchan

The harvest of reading
Generally, I read a few articles before deciding on the one (or the two or the three) I want to share. The next day, I have usually forgotten which article I had talked about the previous day. Surprisingly, I might have forgotten even the subject matter of the article. The same happens to a lot of people unless of course the article is memorable in some way (shocking, relevant to you, repetitive idea etc.). In any case, such an experience can leave me slightly uneasy. I mean, am I not paying enough attention to what I read? But, Paul Graham reassures us in his article: the harvest of reading is not so miserably small as it seems to be. He also talks about how rereading could be such a wonderful thing.

http://www.paulgraham.com/know.html

I love the big fresh starts, the clean slates like birthdays and new years, but I also really like the idea that we can get up every morning and start over.
– Kristin Armstrong

People, I have truly enjoyed this journey of reading with you. I hope you did too. If you know others who would like to take a plunge into our world, show them the way.

Thank you!

Cheers,

Janhvi

