Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, two of my friends were having an almost heated debate on the meaning of communication. Years ago, armed with some fresh dose on grammar and usage after some training, I had begun to correct almost anyone who would go wrong in using English. I rarely do that now unless I am asked. I still believe in using correct language, but I hope I am not such a dictator when it comes to (my and others’) following the rules rigidly. Here’s an interesting debate on utility versus correctness; although it is a debate, there are overlaps – when both writers believe certain things to hold true. More importantly, the write-up should give us a few insights on the when is it okay to use non-standard forms and when is it not.

http://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/regulars/the-duel-is-there-such-a-thing-as-correct-english

