Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I stay away from self-help books. I have mental blocks against reading them. So do a couple of my friends. However, now I that I think about it, I did read one or two of them and perhaps I also happen to read plenty of self-help articles (and find them pretty relevant or good). And, often my reading has influenced me or shifted my perspective, moods, and attitudes towards certain things or people. In today’s article, the essayist indicates the goodness of several right self-help books in terms of how reading the books is sometimes better than medication or therapy. However, for serious cases, she cautions that bibliotherapy is best undertaken with the guidance of a trained therapist. Moreover, there is more to self-help books than just help – even if you are not looking for help, a different way of looking at something can add meaning to what you already know, think, or have experienced.

https://aeon.co/essays/can-self-help-books-be-better-than-medication-or-therapy

